Unit Stewards

Unit Stewards shall inform their Members of activities ongoing within their Bargaining Unit and Local 685. This includes inviting Members to join OPSEU, and welcoming new employees to the workplace and the Union. They shall also represent the concerns and suggestions made by Members in their portfolio to their Bargaining Unit and Local 685. In addition they shall attend Bargaining Unit Committee, Bargaining Unit Membership, Local Executive and Local General Membership meetings, become familiar with the provisions of the Collective Agreement that applies to them, assist and cooperate fully with the Local Health and Safety Committee.

Of the ten Unit Steward positions, there are still four positions still left to be filled, as of March 17, 2020. You may contact your Unit Stewards as follows.

 1  Gerry Mahar (FT Social Sciences)
    email:  Gerry.Mahar@algomau.ca
    phone:  (705) 949-2301 ext 4758 
    office:  NW 304B

 2  Michael Lajoie (PT Sciences, SSM)
    email:  Michael.Lajoie@algomau.ca

 3  Myles McLellan (PT Timmins)
    email:  Myles.Mclellan@algomau.ca
    phone:  (705) 949-9904

 4  Pelham Matthews (FT Steward at Large)
    email:  Pelham.Matthews@algomau.ca
    phone:  (705) 949-2301 ext 4329 
    office:  NW 304A

 5  Seymour Stein (PT Brampton)
    email:  Seymour.Stein@algomau.ca

 6  Tony Fabiano (PT Humanities, SSM)
    email:  Tony.Fabiano@algomau.ca

 7  ______________  (PT Social Sciences, SSM)

 8  ______________  (FT Sciences)

 9  ______________  (FT Humanities)

10  ______________  (FT Steward at Large)