Past President

Past President 

Dr. Linda Burnett (Associate Professor) Department Chair

B.A. (Toronto), B.A. (honours) (Dalhousie), M.A. (Dalhousie), Ph.D. (McGill)

Dr. Linda Burnett teaches in the Department of English and Film. Before coming to Algoma, she held teaching positions in the Foundation Year Programme at the University of King’s College, in the Department of English & Philosophy at Tennessee State University, and in the Department of Theatre at the University of Regina.  Since arriving at Algoma in 2004, in addition to a heavy load of committee work, she has served as president of AUFA for two years and past president for three years; chaired the Department of English & Film twice; acted as Vice Chair of Humanities from 2005 until 2010; served as AUFA’s representative on the Presidential Search Committee (2009/10) and as faculty member-at-large on the Decanal Hiring Committee (2014); served briefly as Chief Negotiator (FT); served as Chief Grievance officer; served as both a member of OCUFA’s Executive Committee and as an OCUFA Board member; chaired OCUFA’s Status of Women Committee; and served as a member of CAUT Council.

Dr. Burnett has a BA in Philosophy from the University of Toronto, an Hon BA and an MA in English from Dalhousie University, and a Ph.D in English from McGill University. Before becoming an academic, she pursued a career in publishing and completed the Publishing Workshop at the Banff School of the Arts, as well as numerous certificate courses/workshops in editing and publishing. Her research and teaching interests include the theatre of Atlantic Canada, Canadian drama, tragedy, feminism and theatre, theory of the theatre, contemporary feminist and post-colonial adaptations of the plays of Euripides and Shakespeare, and early-modern drama.

Roles and Responsibility

(a) The Past President shall:

i) Be a voting member of the Executive Committee;

ii) Provide advice and counsel to members of the Association and the Executive, based on his/her experience and knowledge of Association matters; and

iii) Chair the Nominating Committee


Telephone: 705-949-2301 ext. 4324

Office: SH413